Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

DHS Extends TPS for Six Countries

TPS, or temporary protected status, offers individuals from around the world the refuge they need from the unsafe conditions in their homeland. Significant numbers of people are grateful for attaining TPS, though the process, and the rights TPS provides, can be confusing. Read on and speak with our experienced firm to learn more about TPS and the recent extension of the duration of six countries’ TPS in the United States.

What is the function of TPS?

The United States Secretary of Homeland Security has the power to designate certain foreign countries for TPS. However, only certain countries qualify. Essentially, to qualify for temporary protected status, an individual’s home country must have conditions that make it unsafe for foreign nationals to safely live in or return to that country. Conditions that have awarded individuals TPS in the U.S. can include an ongoing armed conflict, such as a civil war, a catastrophic environmental disaster, like earthquakes or hurricanes, or any other conditions deemed “extraordinary and temporary” by the Secretary of Homeland Security that prevent individuals from returning safely to their home country.

If deemed eligible for TPS upon your case’s initial review, you are unremovable from the United States, eligible to obtain an EAD, or employment authorization document, and you may even be granted travel authorization. Additionally, if deemed eligible, you may not be detained or deported due to your immigration status alone.

Though TPS is temporary, it is a great way for individuals to either file for an adjustment of status based on an immigrant petition, apply for nonimmigrant status, or apply for any other immigration protection they qualify for. Currently, the countries granted TPS are El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, and Yemen.

What countries have extended TPS?

Of the countries designated for TPS, the Secretary of Homeland Security has only extended temporary protected status for six of them. They are as follows: El Salvador, Haiti, Nicaragua, and Sudan (from January 2, 2020, to January 4, 2021), Honduras (from January 5, 2020, to January 4, 2021), and Nepal (from March 24, 2020, to January 4, 2021).

If you have any questions relating to your temporary protected status, obtaining an employment authorization document, or any other immigration-related questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to our knowledgeable, compassionate immigration firm.

Contact our experienced immigration firm

We understand how much is on the line when clients face matters related to immigration. If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for matters regarding immigration, please contact the Law Offices of Salvatore A. Falletta, LLC and we would be happy to provide you with assistance. Our firm is located in Lyndhurst, New Jersey. Contact us today to schedule a consultation.